9 Important Lessons from the Book ‘The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck’

The book revolves around a character called Charles Bukowski, an alcoholic, a gambler. The writer Mark Manson says, he would be the last man on earth to seek any advice.

A New York Times and Globe and Mail bestseller, ‘The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck‘ quickly became one of the top seller of all time.

Want a Free Website

With over 3 million copies sold, It is highly recommended to read this little over 200 pages book. It will help you to understand the importance of living the life; the way you want to live without worrying about external voices.

The book focuses on one solid point, stop trying being over optimistic and positive and look for little things that make you happy and satisfied.

Important Lessons from the Book (Chapter Summary):

Chapter 1 – Don’t Try:

The desire for most positive experience is itself a negative experience. The acceptance of one’s negative experience is itself a positive experience.

Chapter 2 – Happiness is a Problem:

Emotions are over rated. Happiness in our life comes from solving the problems. Problems never stop; they get exchanged or upgraded.

Chapter 3 – You Are Not Special:

These 2 misconceptions with our personality needs to be addressed.

  • I’am awesome and rest of you all suck, i deserve royal treatment.
  • I suck and rest of you are all awesome, so I deserve special treatment.

Chapter 4 – The Value of Suffering:

Our values determine the metrics by which we measure ourselves and everyone else. If you want to change how you see your problems, you have to change what you value or how you measure failure/success.

Chapter 5 – You Are Always Choosing:

There is no ‘How’, The question ‘how do I change’ has to be replaced with action. Either you change or you do not change, asking someone’s opinion to apply on yourself is not good.

Chapter 6 – You’e Wrong About Everything:

One must be careful what they believe, belief are typically wrong. On the other hand, there are absolute dangers of pure certainty.

Chapter 7 – Failure Is The Way Forward:

Accept your failure, analyze your mistakes and improve. Pain is always a part of the process to get to a better version of yourself.

Chapter 8 – The Importance of Saying NO

The most important part of the book is this chapter. It changes your perception about everything in life. The author emphasizes on learning the art of saying ‘No’.

Rejection makes your life better.

Chapter 9 – And Then You Die..

Seek the truth for yourself, before you die; LIVE your LIFE.

Also See: 20 Important Lessons from Rich Dad, Poor Dad Book

Want a Free Website

Written by Hisham Sarwar


That is all you ever need to know about me but let me warn you, freelancing for me is a journey, certainly not a destination :)