WhatsApp read messages notification can be turned off

WhatsApp is one of the world largest chat, video call service. Acquired by Facebook, the company is rolling out new and advanced features in the App very frequently. The chat works in a very simple way. The message once read, display two blue ticks in front of it. This shows the sender their message is read. You may get in an awkward situation where as a recipient you have read a message but somehow forgot to reply. The sender could think, you are ignoring them.

Luckily there is a way to avoid this awkward situation. You can turn off the read receipt from the WhatsApp settings and no one will ever get to know if you have read their message. Here is how you can disable read receipt on WhatsApp.

  • Simply tap the three dots at the top right of the screen
  • Click the Settings menu
  • Click Choose Account
  • Click Choose Privacy
  • Slide the toggle next to the Read receipts and disable the function.